Schools wrap up 1996-97: Cardinal Newman High School graduates 47

COLUMBIA — Cardinal Newman High School graduated 43 seniors in June 3 ceremonies at St. Peter’s Church. Bishop David B. Thompson delivered the commencement address

. Laura M. Greer was the salutatorian and Joshua R. Rushman gave the valedictory address for the CNHS class of ’97.

Twenty-two of the 43 graduates won a total of 71 scholarships; 21 of them had been inducted into the National Honor Society during the previous academic year.

The senior class officers were Dan Blackmon, Kim Alexander, Drew Toney and Paige George; student council officers from the graduating class were Margaret Wilson, David Erskine, Kelly Monahan and Raiessa deWein. Principal Harold Bayerl and Dr. Gay Rowzie presented senior awards. Rowzie is the diocesan secretary of Education and Evangelization.

Valedictorian Joshua Rushman is the son of John and Mary Kay Rushman of Columbia. He is a Carolina Scholar, one of only 20 in the state and will enroll in the University of South Carolina Honors College in the fall. He is a member of the NHS and represented his chapter at state conventions. Rushman was also a top competitor on his school’s math team. He will major in math and international studies at USC.

Laura Greer achieved the second highest average of all the graduates through four years of secondary school. She is the daughter of Barbara Mizzell Greer of St. George and W. Stuart Greer of Whiteville

. Laura was active at CNHS, including in her resume participation in the drama club and on the quiz bowl team; she is a member of the NHS. She is a musician with the South Carolina Philharmonic Youth Orchestra and will attend Presbyterian College on a music and academic scholarship.

Other graduates of Cardinal Newman High School were: Jason C. Abernathy, Kimberly A. Alexander, Sidney G. Alston, Jr., Jessamine L. Amason, Marla A. Anyomi, David-Ariel A. Arroyo, Ian M. Baens, William D. Blackmon, Ernest R. Blackwell, Emily F. Campbell, Jason M. Carrerro, Carmelina B. Caver, Travis J. Chick. William O. Daniels, Raiessa C. de Wein, David L. Fowler, Timothy P. Gaffney, Paige B. George, Lindsey D. Gertz, Christopher J. Gleaton, Christina M. Henry, Regina A. Inglese, Garrett J. Kellerhalls, Amanda L. Klicka, Stephanie L. Leach, Mary C. Mahoney, Jason T. Melson, Kelly K. Monahan, Robert H. Moore III, Brooke A. Nichols, Lindsay K. O’Brien, Brandy L. Reeves, Amy T. Rouse, Kenneth S. Sexton, Ashley R. Tomberlin, Andrew J. Toney, Jennifer L. Wade, Timothy S. Wescott, Lindsey M. Williams and Margaret C. Wilson.